The province of  Nova Scotia with Halifax as capital consists of the Nova Scotia Peninsula, Cape Breton Island and, far out at sea, Sable Island with its pony-sized horses.
When the first Europeans showed up in the early 1500's they found the land inhabited by the Mi'kmaq people.
That did not stop French colonists from settling Port Royal and founding Acadia, a colony of New France in 1605.
For much of the 17th and 18th century the French and British battled for control, with the Brits to prevail in the end. In the process thousands of Acadians were deported with some of them ending up as far as in Louisiana.
After the American Revolution some 30.000 Americans loyal to the British Crown were relocated and settled in what is now Nova Scotia and New Brunswick, driving the Mi'kmaqs from their lands.
In 1874 Nova Scotia and New Brunswick joined the new Canadian Confederation.
For centuries the province's economy thrived on the Cod fishery but that came to an abrupt end with  the 1992 Cod Moratorium.
Today Nova Scotia has an important military and aerospace industry and a thriving  tourism industry, with many cruiseships calling port at Halifax.
The Bay of Fundy with its huge tides is ideal for whale-watching and other water related activities.
Most tourists visit Cape Breton to enjoy its history and the beautyful  views along the Cabot Trail.
website593003.jpg website593002.gif website593001.gif
Cape Breton