The Dutch Carribean refers to the islands in the Carribean that are part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands.
The Leeward Islands, Aruba, Bonaire and Curacao  sit just north of Venezuela, while the Windward Islands Sint Maarten, Saba and Sint Eustacius are 900 km more to the northeast , just below Anguilla.
Apart from a common history under Dutch sovereignty the wind and leeward 
islands have not much in common.
In the Windward Isles English is spoken while in the Leeward Isles most people speak Papiamento. The official and legal language is Dutch.
In 1954 the six islands became the Netherlands Antilles, a country within the Kingdom of the Netherlands.
Since October 2010 Aruba, St Maarten and Curacao are constituent countries
and Bonaire, Saba and St Eustatius have the status of special Dutch municipalities.
When we  lived in Curacao we took the opportunity to explore all the islands of the Dutch Carribean.
website196002.gif website196001.gif
Leeward Isles
Windward Isles